The Great Debate: Pizza vs. Chinese Food

The Holy Grail of Pizza..Buffalo Chicken

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Coke or Pepsi, vanilla or chocolate, PS3 or Xbox are some of the great debates that can cause unrepairable rifts in friendships and relationships. Our generation has probably become the most indecisive ever with so many options being crammed down our throats. Just watch an entire commercial break and you’ll see two new reality spinoffs, on top of three different pizza chain ads( Will gauge my eyes out if I see that Papa John skit with Manning one more time). I can hardly even pick what brand of chips I want when I go to the store, let alone which flavor. Sometimes I wish I grew up in the 1800’s, when things were so much simpler. Instead of choosing which Xbox game to play from the hundreds of options at Best Buy, my only choice for entertainment would be to push a hoop with a stick. Hopefully, there weren’t too many hoop/stick brands to choose from.

A recent debate that I have come across has really been perplexing me. It is more dividing than pro life vs. pro choice, legalization of drugs, and even lowering the drink age…Which food is better reheated the next morning: PIZZA vs. CHINESE FOOD. Drunk college students, late night clubbers, and even lazy adults feel that sense of victory when they find that half filled pizza box or quart of Chicken Lo Mein hidden in the fridge. But once again, the debate is not as simple with the hundreds of varieties of these delectable cuisines.

For the pro pizza side, most people can find joy in just savoring that lone slice of a cheese pie after the last call at a bar. Simple and original and always safe bet. Throw it in the microwave for minute, and you feel like you’re Gordon Ramsey whipping up a five course meal ( most likely the side effects of too much liquor).The pro Chinese food has too many options to list, but I will say most meals are more filling and probably more nutritional than your average slice of pizza. Throw in the some sweet and sour sauce on fried chicken and you’ll be feeling like a million bucks. However, pizza may have the upper hand in this debate.

Chinese food definitely has the variety of choices from chicken & broccoli to beef and rice, but I have never seen people fight over General Tso’s Chicken like they do for a certain kind of pizza. The holy grail of all pies has to be buffalo chicken. Not only is it delicious warm and fresh, but it must have some secret ingredient to make it even more mouth watering reheated. Not only have I seen people burn their last dollar buying fresh pies of buff chic at 2 in the morning, but I have seen friends legit fist fight over a single slice. Pretty intense for something most people take for granted.

Like I said before, some of these debates have torn rifts in friendships. For me, it really doesn’t matter. If I’m hungry and it’s there, I won’t even reheat. Years of cutting weight from wrestling has given me the super power of savoring and enjoying any kind of food warm or cold, fresh or a couple days old.

5 responses

  1. And why does there have to be so many kinds of batteries… or light bulbs?

    1. Couldn’t agree more with you…theres a whole aisle in stores dedicated to just one type of battery, when all you need is a simple shelf

      1. Not to mention when my wife or daughters need some kind of feminine hygene product…

      2. That’s a whole another post or blog to get into haha

      3. That might be sort of funny.

Leave a Reply

