First Week Back in Gym

My arms are killing me even as I type this. I forgot what it was like to get back into the gym for the first time. After the first few days of extreme soreness have worn off, I am finally able to bend my arms down and touch my back. It was excruciating trying to find the motivation to get myself to lift weights as I was still in pain from yesterday’s workout. Even though I should have eased back into exercising, that just isn’t the way I have grown up working out. If I do something, I want to put all my effort into it. If I owned a company and relied on people working for me, I wouldn’t want them to give me less than a hundred percent. And I am the only employee of my life, so  I need to go beyond my expectations and potential. And just like a business, my body felt the aches and pains of starting from the beginning.

My biggest goal is to not only get back to my original form, but to try to get into the best shape of my life. I know it is a long process, even though I am already checking to see if the results are showing. I can definitely feel it in every muscle of my body. The couple of years of goofing around, going on late night fast food runs, and no exercise at all are really showing as I can barely run for thirty minutes. I saw where my body was heading and I knew I had to change my life styles. I even began a new diet and have been eating less portions and more healthy foods. While I barely got through one week, I am happy I successfully pushed myself through it. Not only is it beneficial to my physical health, but I feel much better all around. I feel like I have been given back my energy and drive to go after things. I no longer want to sulk around and wonder why my life is the way it is. I have a schedule and a routine. I am time managing my days and taking the steps in order to achieve my plans for the future. These are some things I could barely do when I was on top of the ball in high school.

As I get ready to go back into the gym for my second week, I have no hesitations to continue to work out hard. I am still battling some aches and the the fatigue my body is feeling from this new routine of exercise, but it is all worth it. I am not looking back towards my past anymore and questioning my decisions. Regret is nothing more than a word to me. No longer will I feel sorry for myself. I am the only one responsible for my life, and will take on every challenge life throws at me in full stride. I am living in the present and feel great about where I am heading.

Leave a Reply

